Skip to content
Oldham Counts — Oldham, in numbers.Local help →

Oldham, in numbers

People and living standards

Oldham council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Oldham council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 218,482 in 1991 to 251,915 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Oldham council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 219,191 people in 1996; 251,915 people in 2025. 14.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Oldham council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991218,482
1992219,227
1993219,519
1994219,416
1995219,046
1996219,191
1997218,942
1998218,672
1999218,420
2000218,114
2001218,537
2002218,455
2003218,490
2004218,988
2005219,288
2006220,033
2007220,723
2008221,907
2009222,811
2010223,807
2011225,157
2012226,057
2013227,866
2014230,348
2015232,693
2016235,021
2017237,161
2018239,923
2019242,077
2020242,181
2021242,003
2022244,584
2023247,251
2024250,725
2025251,915
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Oldham council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 50,688 people in 1996; 55,885 people in 2025. 10.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Oldham council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199149,712
199250,214
199350,734
199450,971
199550,855
199650,688
199750,573
199850,401
199950,493
200050,268
200149,955
200249,722
200349,632
200449,652
200549,680
200649,708
200749,648
200849,945
200949,958
201050,207
201150,368
201250,720
201351,325
201452,362
201553,319
201654,002
201754,579
201855,177
201955,518
202055,262
202154,750
202255,224
202355,570
202456,001
202555,885
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Oldham council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 136,836 people in 1996; 155,767 people in 2025. 13.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Oldham council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991136,144
1992136,566
1993136,535
1994136,485
1995136,367
1996136,836
1997136,853
1998136,969
1999136,851
2000136,847
2001137,495
2002137,654
2003137,681
2004137,954
2005138,126
2006138,884
2007139,499
2008140,146
2009140,620
2010140,871
2011141,638
2012141,064
2013141,229
2014141,999
2015142,990
2016144,176
2017145,287
2018146,813
2019148,113
2020148,352
2021148,432
2022150,300
2023152,439
2024155,113
2025155,767
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Oldham council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 31,667 people in 1996; 40,263 people in 2025. 27.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Oldham council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199132,626
199232,447
199332,250
199431,960
199531,824
199631,667
199731,516
199831,302
199931,076
200030,999
200131,087
200231,079
200331,177
200431,382
200531,482
200631,441
200731,576
200831,816
200932,233
201032,729
201133,151
201234,273
201335,312
201435,987
201536,384
201636,843
201737,295
201837,933
201938,446
202038,567
202138,821
202239,060
202339,242
202439,611
202540,263
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 242,087 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Oldham · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh59,56524.6%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African8,2093.4%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups6,1252.5%
White164,89768.1%
Other ethnic group3,2911.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 224,897 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Oldham · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White174,32677.5%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups4,0571.8%
Asian/Asian British43,16519.2%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British2,7971.2%
Other ethnic group5520.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 217,273 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Oldham · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White187,16286.1%
Mixed2,4511.1%
Asian/Asian British25,80711.9%
Black/Black British1,2350.6%
Chinese/Other6180.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 27.7% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Oldham council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £8,102 per person in 1997; £18,775 per person in 2024. 131.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Oldham council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19978,102
19988,226
19998,755
20009,126
20019,450
20029,675
20039,938
200410,340
200510,624
200611,067
200711,489
200811,588
200911,959
201012,102
201112,195
201212,666
201313,054
201413,418
201513,798
201613,833
201713,980
201814,572
201915,270
202015,336
202115,861
202216,655
202317,741
202418,775
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Oldham council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -23.6% in 1997; -27.7% in 2024. 4.1 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Oldham council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-23.6
1998-24
1999-22.6
2000-23.3
2001-23.6
2002-23.5
2003-23.8
2004-23.8
2005-24.4
2006-24.4
2007-25.1
2008-26.4
2009-25.3
2010-25.1
2011-25.2
2012-25
2013-25.5
2014-25.8
2015-27.5
2016-28.2
2017-29
2018-28.6
2019-27.5
2020-26.9
2021-27.4
2022-27.5
2023-27.4
2024-27.7
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

52.5%

21 March 2021 · Oldham council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

24.4%

21 March 2021 · Oldham council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

24.7%

21 March 2021 · Oldham council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

6.3%

21 March 2021 · Oldham council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£217,000

July 2026 · Oldham council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£942

August 2026 · Oldham council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.